Optional

Everything in life is optional.  Even when you don’t believe you have any other choice, there are no other opportunities, or that you are stuck; there is always another option.

Even individuals with terminal illnesses have options.  Maybe not the options they desire but they are there.  Individuals can choose to live their last days angry, sad, and for all intents and purposes already dead, or they can make the most of it.  Some individuals actually overcome illness because their will to live and fight is so strong.

That is an extreme example.  However, I believe that if there are people who can choose to be happy, live life fully and with purpose, and make the most of their last days in the face of death then the rest of us ultimately have no excuses.

You can’t say I don’t understand hardships. You don’t know me and I don’t blog my entire life from the minute I get up to the time I go to bed.  As a matter of fact, I don’t blog much at all.  I would like to more often but I ultimately choose not to.  Not because I don’t want to, but because I have a list of excuses so long it probably makes a marathon look like a sprint.

I write this post simply because of the pain I feel for people right now.  I hear so much desperation, fatigue, and lifelessness in everyone’s plea.  People are tired.  The little things are piling up and they just don’t care to get out of bed on an emotional level.  These things lead to depression, suicide, homicide, job loss, weight gain, weight loss, and ultimately an unfulfilled life.

I know life is hard. I know it throws curve balls.  I know it’s a bumpy ride.  However, I myself have been on my own journey over the past few months.  No I am not trying to “find myself.” I know exactly where I am, who I am, and who I want to be.  When I say I’ve been on a journey, I mean I’ve been on a journey to finding a fulfilling life for myself.  Contemplating making changes in my life to make it better, stronger, and happier.

I will admit that I am not living a life fit for the silver screen.  I am not living a life that the directors in Hollywood would crawl over hot coals to make into a movie.

No. I am not there. Yet. I plan to get there.

I say this because in the past few months I’ve felt my mind rambling on like a bad self-help book in an audiobook format.  However, my mind was right. Everything it said was right.  That’s because it was telling me things I already knew.  Things that were in the back of my consciousness all this time.

The thing is, I’ve been through my ups and downs.  I have dealt with the loss of loved ones, been sick, been in intense physical pain, worried for someone else, been angry with others, been depressed, hated my job, didn’t get other jobs, wondered how I was going to pay my bills, gained weight, lost weight, had bad hair days, had pimples, had trash spill out on to my clean floor, On the same note I have also made health a priority in my life (which means going to the gym, taking care of me, and eating better has been at the top of my list), tried new things, almost finished my special education endorsement(just need to take the certification test in a couple months), laughed more, been more emotionally available, let go of regrets, got rid of toxic people in my life, made my faith and belief system my sense of guidance, helped others more, stopped regretting things I have or have not done, and stopped wishing and started doing.

The thing is, we can always look for a new job, change our attitudes, make the time, laugh more, smile more, love more, hate less, and be better.

You just have to choose to do so.

For a long time I wanted to be a doctor.  I really did.  I never really took that path, instead I decided to be a teacher.  Then, I started regretting and wishing I had stayed on my original path.  I’m glad I didn’t.  I want so much more out of my life.  Being the doctor I want to be wouldn’t allow me the time to do such things.  I chose to let that part of me go. I chose to be happy with where I am at.  Although, I’m not where I want to be, I’m working my way towards my goals and what I want out of life.  That’s all anyone can do.

Heather

~ by huskiepawz07 on August 29, 2013.

One Response to “Optional”

  1. Thanks in favor of sharing such a pleasant thinking, piece of writing is nice,
    thats why i have read it entirely

Leave a Reply

 
