Life with Chronic Pain

I’m not quite sure how to put all of this into words, but I shall do my best.  I do this not only for myself, but others who suffer from chronic pain as well.

I am not one that has developed a chronic pain condition and has been suffering for years.  Honesty, this just started in March 2014. I’ve been going to doctors since the beginning of March and have yet to receive a diagnosis. After doing some research, I realized just how many people have these very same problems. Constant pain or discomfort. Doubt from others as to their level of pain. No diagnosis.  And eventually one may become depressed.

I miss the days when a couple of ibuprofen would take care of a headache, a backache, minor body aches, some shoulder pain, or discomfort in the neck. Now after trying multiple prescription drugs, I have found no difference in how I feel from day to day.

I have been doing a lot of thinking, reflecting, and researching lately. It has been almost 9 months of toying with doctors, coping with pain, and trying to thwart extreme fatigue.  Thankfully, all of the people in my life are understanding and willing to help when needed. I work for the family business in which my dad is also my boss, so missing days of work doesn’t count against me like it would any other job.

Over the past month I have become increasingly irritated with this nonsense and am setting out to figure all of this out myself. Most doctors don’t give me time to explain my symptoms let alone care enough to find what is wrong. I understand that these things take time, but I started dealing with this just before I turned 25. I am 25. I should not be moving about as well as my fiancé’s grandfather.  To be honest, there are some days I think he could beat me in a race.

Slowly, but surely, I plan on getting my life back the way I want it to be.  I refuse to work around this pain and change my lifestyle accordingly anymore.  I am not 100% sure how I will accomplish all of this but, I am 100% sure that it WILL be done.  I just know that something has got to change. There are way too many things that I want to get out of life and succumbing to whatever undiagnosed problem this is, is not an option for me.

Heather

~ by huskiepawz07 on October 23, 2014.

One Response to “Life with Chronic Pain”

  1. I am so sorry Heather. All I can do is hope that whatever this is will be diagnosed soon and will be treatable. You are in my thoughts.

    Fantastic post. Yes, a lot of people are enduring similar circumstances, with chronic, undiagnosed and excruciating pain. The ensuing depression is what is especially troubling, I have found. I am grateful to read that you are hopeful and positive, despite what you are going through. That takes so much courage and strength, to battle the pain and not to succumb to it, emotionally.

    Hugs,

    olde babs

Leave a Reply

 
