The Information Age

This is truly the age of information.  Within seconds we can have all the information about anything or anyone our heart desires.  I used to believe that this was nothing but a good thing.  Lately, I have come to believe just a little bit differently.  I think it is great how quickly we can get information, especially if we know where to look.  The problem I found is that finding credible information is a difficulty of its own.  The second problem I found is finding practical and credible information is a completely different story.

Ever since March 2014 I have been living with chronic pain. The struggle I have had with the doctors and the health system is its own rant entirely.  Since my doctors have yet to diagnose me almost 8 months later, I thought I’d do a little research on my own.  I don’t plan to cure myself of what ails me, but I’d like to make my days a little more comfortable. So I started trying to research things I could do to help out the symptoms.  So I set about with a clear idea of what I wanted to research.

Finding credible information on the internet is its own problem.  There are plenty of sites with “bogus” articles and even more that are blogs, personal testimonials, and personal websites.  The second problem came with finding practical AND credible information.

I, like most people, am a fairly busy person.  I have a house to clean, laundry to do, dinner to cook, a job to attend, and the list goes on.  Which is why at this point in my life, I needed simple and practical changes I could make to my life.  The things I do are incredibly exhausting and require quite a bit of energy to accomplish.  Therefore at the end of the day I don’t have much motivation to do things that are completely outside of my normal daily life. Most people who experience chronic pain would probably be more than happy to explain the challenges that the smallest of tasks can pose.

Upon doing some research, low-impact exercising was recommended. Fantastic.  I already go for nightly walks with my fiancé and I did realize that the nightly walks do help with some of the stiffness in my joints that I experience.  I already take extra Vitamin D and that has helped with my mood improvement.  These things were good ideas, but the problem was that I was already doing them.  I was looking to see what more I could do.

I stumbled across numerous articles that recommended Tai Chi.  I have absolutely no interest in learning Tai Chi. Taking the time to learn and practice Tai Chi is not a practical idea right now. I can also tell you that I do not see acupuncture in my future either.  It’s not that I’m not willing to go above and beyond to better myself.  It’s that there are things that are of no interest to me.  If I don’t find interest in them, I probably won’t be able to stick with them.  It would be too easy to find excuses to not do them.

As far as simple exercises are concerned (as this is only one aspect of my research thus far), I believe people should just do what feels comfortable for them. There are already numerous benefits to exercise, most of which will have a direct impact on your mood, self-esteem, level of anxiety, and so on.  I do recommend low-impact exercises.  I do recommend patience.  It takes quite some time to build up strength especially when dealing with pain.  I know that over the last few months I lost a lot of the strength and stamina that I used to have. That’s why it is important to continue moving even if you are tired and sore.

I keep track of my improvements over time and I will let you know how these things work out for me. I am by no means an expert and if it helps you, great.  If you find no use in this, then I am not offended.  This is simply my account of what is going on.  Although I do hope that this does not pop up in a search engine somewhere when someone is trying to find information not provided by the average individual.

Heather

~ by huskiepawz07 on October 24, 2014.

One Response to “The Information Age”

  1. Aye, the internet is exceedingly cluttered today. I have a number of search codes and filters I use in order to improve my results. I hope things improve, Heather, and you find some things that help and work well for you, along with the wonderful things you are already doing. Prayers, with love,

    olde babs

Leave a Reply

 
